Jain University Sports Round up

JU News Desk
Published: January 2012

Jain University clinches titles in cricket, swimming and tennis

South Zone Inter University Tennis Tournament

Jain University is well known for its prowess in sports. Clinching the titles in these tournaments the different sports teams from the university once again proved that sports is a revered tradition here. While the triumphs were many in different fields we bring the highlights from the world at sports at our campus.


The cricket team from Jain University clinched the title at the South Zone Inter University Cricket Championship recording a 39 run win over the University of Madras. The cricketing tournament hosted by Osmania University stands amongst one of the much awaited university tournaments. Throughout the tournament a more than credible performance from the Jain University team helped them stay on the top of their game. A spectacular century by K.L. Rahul (119) propelled the Jain University team towards victory by giving a tough challenge to the chasing team in the finals. Madras University had entered the finals by winning a five wicket win over Andhra University team in the semis.

On the other hand the Jain University team had entered the finals by defeating JNTU Hyderabad in the semi- finals. Powered by 151 not out performance by Mayank Agarwal was chasing a target of 212 runs at the cost of seven wickets by JNTU Hyderabad. The winning team reached their goal in mere 28.4 overs with eight wickets remaining making it a record win.


Both Men and Women tennis players from Jain University shone at the South Zone Inter University Tennis Tournament in fast paced matches against formidable opponents. Jain University entered the finals of the South Zone Men’s Tennis Tournament scoring a win over the defenders of the title Osmania University at the Manipal University Sports Complex. Vinod Gowda from Jain University beat Pradeep Reddy 6-2, 4-6, 6-2 while Kiran Nandakumar bt Raran Ramaiah 6-1, 6-1 and Sagar/ Vasanth bt Pradeep Reddy/Pradeep Deswal 6-2, 6-3 in the Men’s Double. Jain University went on to win the title SRM University in the finals. The finals were throughout dominated by Vinod Gowda and Sagar Manjanna in the Men’s Singles and Kiran and Vasanth in the Doubles. It was the first appearance of Jain University at the tournament making the victory all the more special. The path to winning the title was set by Gowda beating Prithvi of Osmania University 6-0, 6-1 followed by an easy victory for Sagar Majanna against P. Manikandan (6-3, 6-2). The doubles witnessed triumph of Kiran and Vasanth over Manav and Sahil (6-2, 6-2). Women tennis players from Jain University not to be left behind swept the title for the South Zone Women’s Inter University Tournament at Belgaum playing against Madras University, Chennai. Shalaka Uddur of Jain University bt Bhavani from Madras University 8-3. In another match Prarathana Pratap and Prerana Pratap scored a victory over Preethi and Bhavani (8-3) in the Doubles.


All India Inter University Aquatic Championship held at Kolkata became a ground for several new records and stunning performances in swimming. The overall title for this championship was won by Jain University. Scoring 143 points, this was the first win at the championship for the stalwarts after being declared as a Deemed to be University. While in the Men’s section Jain University finished with 42 points 101 points in the Women’s section. In the women’s section Surabhi Tipre set a new meet record in100m breaststroke (1:19.66, NMR over 2:30.85, Tejaswini, 2008) as Gagan A.P. broke his own record in 1500 metres freestyle (16:26.41 NMR over 17:02.34 in 2009).